You are currently browsing the daily archive for August 12, 2009.

Hide and Seek

Remember when the world was new,
At one with life, all things in tune?
We chased the sun all afternoon
Through freedom’s skies and garden bloom.

God walked along our paths with glee.
Together we all laughed with ease.
We longed to hear His loving voice
Before the sin of self rejoiced.

But then came death through open eyes.
To innocence, we said goodbye.
And now our Father waits alone,
Our nakedness keeps us from home.

He seeks us in our secret places.
Since the Choice, we hide our faces.
Running from His perfect peace,
An endless game of hide and seek.

Please find me Lord behind all vice,
To play, once more, in paradise.

~~~~~
“The man (Adam) and his wife (Eve) were both naked, and they felt no shame.”
Genesis 2:25

I believe this scripture best describes the state of mankind after God created Adam and Eve, shortly before the fall. They were briefly innocent, with eyes off self, consumed by God’s presence to the point of being unaware of their own nakedness in His garden. After the apple incident, everything changed forever. They became aware of their own nakedness and hid from God. This is where we lost something we’ve been searching for ever since (in my humble opinion).

I’m Not Ashamed of the Gospel

I have no song without the Son
Who rose upon my darkest days.
He rescued me from all I’d done
And gave me life despite my ways.

Was once a fool so ruled by pride
I roamed the world on broken roads.
My past obscured by darker skies
I traveled with tormented soul.

But then one day the light came on
The world grew small, His love I hailed.
Old rugged cross became my song
I was redeemed as Christ prevailed!

Now I dance among the joyful
God’s peace in me has still remained.
I praise my Lord for his great gospel
Because of Him, I’m not ashamed.

Because of Christ, I’m alive again!

 

~~~~~
“I am not ashamed of the gospel, because it is the power of God for the salvation of everyone who believes; first for the Jew, then for the Gentile.  For in the gospel a righteousness from God is revealed, a righteousness that is by faith from first to last, just as it is written:  “The righteous will live by faith.”
Romans 1:16,17

Hello Everyone,

Welcome to my journey back to grace.  I affectionately call it “the long way home”. . .lol.   Just like when God led the Israelites across the desert on what was supposed to be a few days journey into the promised land, because of their stubborn hearts, it took them forty years of wandering the wilderness before they finally got their act together and God led them in.  They took the long way home.   Hopefully, it won’t take me the entire forty to get back, but I suppose that will depend entirely on me…lol.

I was found by God over a decade ago and introduced to His Son, Jesus Christ.  After many months of stubborn resistance, I finally saw the Truth and let Jesus into my heart.  I still remember that day and the commitment I made like it was yesterday.  That was the single best moment of my life. 

Unfortunately, although my Lord continued to be faithful, I did not.  After spending three wonderful years serving God and growing in his grace, I went my own way, foolishly thinking that I could continue this walk of faith without Him.  This, of course, was stupid and I hadn’t set out to do this on purpose.  It just sort of happened, and before I knew it, I’d lost my way and became once again engrossed in the things of this world, losing sight of the cross and thus, sabotaging my own walk with God.   

So I guess you could call me a “backslider” or “mudsucker” or any of those other clever names for someone who loses sight of Christ.  I prefer plain old “dumb ass”…lol.

Fortunately, God never gives up on any of us and He continues to be faithful even when we’re not.  

I am just now regaining by senses and tuning back in to God and His wonderful gospel.  The static of this busy world can shipwreck a person’s faith in record time if you’re not careful so don’t ever let go of Christ.  Just don’t do it.  Period.

I invite you to take this journey back with me.  I’m talking to those of you who know where I’ve been and have once tasted the goodness of God and somehow lost their way.  It’s never too late, He is the Lord of continual second chances and His love and mercy will outlast our stubborness.  I am a living witness to this…lol. 

I have heard it said once that when a Christian falls, he always falls forward and that when God picks him back up, he has somehow gained ground as opposed to falling behind.  I have eaten enough dirt now to believe wholeheartedly in this.

As my journey back begins, I would like to share the things I’m learning as well as the things I’ve never forgotten (only failed to live up to).  You are more than welcome to share your heart here concerning your own struggles or victories on this wonderful walk with God.  All I ask is that you please leave the church masks at home.  We’ve all learned how to dress up our messes to look pretty on a Sunday morning; learned all the clever cliches and one-liners.  This is a skill the world has taught us all how to do from an early age.  Let’s just be honest here shall we?

It is my goal here to be as straight forward and honest with all of you about my frail humanity and failures.  I will also share in my own victories along the way.

What gives me great comfort is knowing that I stand before you as much a Christian as I was several years ago, perhaps even a better one since all that foolish pride is now absent.  Always remember that when Jesus gets a hold of you, He doesn’t ever let go.  Nothing in this life can separate us from the love of Christ!!!   I am thankful for this.

As we journey together, I ask that you keep me honest and feel free to correct me if I’ve gotten something wrong.  One time, years ago, the Lord blessed me with a couple gifts to use for his glory and I intend to “yield” now and let him use those gifts again.  If he can use a donkey to do his bidding, he can still use a fool like me…lol.

So, with all that being said, welcome to Highway316, a place where Christians can be honest with each other, encourage one another, and learn from one another.  For the rest of you wandering in and saying, “What about me, I’m not a Christian?”  You are more than welcome to stay.  The fact is, being a Christian is simply “believing” in Christ, God’s purposed plan of redeeming all of mankind.  Since He knows us better than we know ourselves, and you’re still here, perhaps you are a Christian and simply don’t know it yet…lol.

It all starts with this wonderful passage of Scripture here:

“For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.”  John 3:16

Also, let me finish with this wonderful promise:

“Who shall separate us from the love of Christ?  Shall trouble or hardship or persecution or famine or nakedness or danger or sword?  As it is written:  ‘For your sake we face death all day long; we are considered as sheep to be slaughtered.’  No, in all things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us.  For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”  Romans 8:35-39

Again, for those of you who once knew this, as I did, His words still stand and God loves us and will never let us go.  He waits for each of us to come back home.  It’s all on us now.  Will our actions line up with what we claim to believe?

May God’s peace keep our minds safe from the lies of this world.  In Jesus’ name, amen.

Sincerely, God’s donkey for Christ,

Scott